LIVE . LOVE . HURT . HOPE

Breezing through life and loving every moment…

Book Review: The Story of Edgar Sawtelle

on October 16, 2009

This is not just about dogs.

But yes, I have to admit, because there are dogs involved, I did not think twice to try to get my hands on this book. I mean, I cried bucketloads reading Marley & Me, while sunbathing in my bikini by a resort poolside – much to the curiosity of other couples on a romantic beach resort. But hey, you too would shed a tear or two (or many many more) if your favorite dog character could not walk anymore? Right? Right? RIGHT ?!

While watching a random (backdated) episode of Oprah, this book was being show-cased. Oprah raved about it. Her fans did. So did Stephen King. So I had to get it !

I shall be reading this over the weekend, and throughout my Australia break next week.  I just KNOW it is going to be a great unforgettable book!

edgar-sawtelle-190More about the book here.


2 responses to “Book Review: The Story of Edgar Sawtelle

  1. whimsicaljottings says:

    Gosh, what are the odds! Near my current house now, there is a lady who has a beagle. The beagle is obviously old as it struggles to walk, and I assume it has athritis. A few weeks back, I saw her walking the dog with a strap of cloth under its belly, so I assume when it gets too tired to walk (or perhaps it has bad hind legs), she sort of lifts the band of cloth to support the dog while it walks on its two front legs. When I first saw the dog hobbling along slowly, I felt so so sad. Then when I saw the lady with the band of cloth for the dog, I felt even sadder.

    And then yesterday I saw the lady with the beagle again. This time, it was fitted with two wheels on it’s hind legs. And when I walked past it, I heard the dog breathing rather heavily. I felt SO SAD I cried while walking back home. 😦 😦 Sigh. Dogs always have this effect on me. The HB consoled me saying that at least the dog has a good owner who cares a lot about her dog, and chose to not just put the dog down. I hope Beagle has had a good fulfilling life and will not suffer as much anymore.

    Darn, I’m tearing up again 😦

    • Quen says:

      Somehow perhaps it is how dogs have this look in their eyes when they look at you. There is a small village next to my office and from time to time the strays from there come and take a nap outside our lobby. Normally everyone just walks by them and leaves them to daydream, so it is nice that no one is mistreating them. I would walk by, stop, say Hi before I walk to my car. There’s a chicken rice shop we always go to for lunch with a resident stray (which is so well-fed he hardly looks like a stray) that is almost like a part-time pet… coz he would come by to our table and lie down nearby and I would feed him chicken skin and bones. 😛 I am such a sucker for all dogs………I can tell all the strays / non strays along our street apart. Hubby thinks I should put my good memory to better use 😛

Leave a comment